Jump to content


- - - - -

Mastercam X Editor


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 newbeeee

newbeeee

    old but NOT grown up

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,542 posts
  • Location:Where the Ind Revolution began

Posted 25 May 2011 - 12:17 PM

Hi All,
We run the standard Mastercam X Editor.
It loads .nc files and displays colour.
For programs returned from the cnc's, there is no file extension, so if we load it into the editor we have to rename it .nc first, or it displays with all black text.
There's an options box which allows the addition of different file extentions to be recognised as nc code (.txt for example), but how do you get no file extention to be recognised as nc code???
cheers

#2 Goldorak

Goldorak

    I Live. I Ride. I am Jeep.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,619 posts
  • Location:Quebec Canada

Posted 25 May 2011 - 01:37 PM

it's under Tool>option> add aditionnal extension  to recognize NC code

#3 newbeeee

newbeeee

    old but NOT grown up

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,542 posts
  • Location:Where the Ind Revolution began

Posted 25 May 2011 - 02:05 PM

Thanks for the reply, but how do we get a file with no extension to be recognised as nc code?

#4 Goldorak

Goldorak

    I Live. I Ride. I am Jeep.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,619 posts
  • Location:Quebec Canada

Posted 25 May 2011 - 02:27 PM

oups sorry !!!

does your transfer program can automatically add the extension ,we  use CIMCO and i can change the extension type of incoming file directly in the port options

#5 newbeeee

newbeeee

    old but NOT grown up

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,542 posts
  • Location:Where the Ind Revolution began

Posted 25 May 2011 - 02:39 PM

We use easydnc. I'll have a look in the morning.
I did try *.* in the box to no avail.
Cheers

#6 Joseph

Joseph

    Member

  • Customers
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 25 May 2011 - 04:46 PM

Can you use File, Open as NC ...

Attached Files

  • Attached File  open.jpg   25.82K   31 downloads


#7 newbeeee

newbeeee

    old but NOT grown up

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,542 posts
  • Location:Where the Ind Revolution began

Posted 26 May 2011 - 01:49 AM

Goldorak - easydnc doesn't look like it can assign file extentions.
Joseph - that works. I never noticed this before!

I just tried .* (rather than *.*) as an extension in the options but it didnt recognise this either.

Is this cnc's own product? I'll put an enhancement request in.
Thanks for all the replies.
cheers