Jump to content


- - - - -

.stl to .stp file converter


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Jeremy Herron@DBS Solutions™

Jeremy Herron@DBS Solutions™

    Advanced Member

  • eMC Learning Group
  • PipPipPip
  • 920 posts
  • Location:Greenville, SC

Posted 02 March 2012 - 02:12 PM

I searched and did not see anything. My CMM guys want "in process" models. So I was thinking of saving the .stl from verify of each operation, and giving them that, but They need it to be in a .stp/.step format. Anyone know of a way to do this in mastercam or know of another convertor?



TIA

#2 Mic

Mic

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 02 March 2012 - 03:12 PM

stl is triangle data. I don't think you can convert this into stp ( solid ) data without using somekind of reverse enginering program like Geomagic Studio or similar.

#3 GoetzInd

GoetzInd

    Chip Making Strategyst

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,344 posts
  • Location:Chicago Land

Posted 02 March 2012 - 03:12 PM

That would be cool but I wonder how the quality would be...

Mike

#4 Bill Henderson

Bill Henderson

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Gilbert AZ

Posted 02 March 2012 - 03:14 PM

Not sure what CMM's they used to have where I was before but they used stl files.

They are positive its a step file?

#5 Jeremy Herron@DBS Solutions™

Jeremy Herron@DBS Solutions™

    Advanced Member

  • eMC Learning Group
  • PipPipPip
  • 920 posts
  • Location:Greenville, SC

Posted 02 March 2012 - 03:27 PM

It can be .iges, .stp, or catia format. I just did not want to have to draw the part after each operation. :wallbash: Will Verisurf do it?

#6 Bill Henderson

Bill Henderson

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Gilbert AZ

Posted 02 March 2012 - 03:30 PM

I just read in an stl into my solidworks. Saved it and then saved as step. It seemed to have worked... until I tried to open it in MC. But mcam is looking for solid or surface features.

Why can't they take the finished solid model in step. run the program and verify from that a set amount of stock they expect to have left from your roughing operations?

Seems like a lot of messing around to make sure a roughed part is roughed?

Maybe the CMM would be capable of reading the step I (you) created in Solidworks.

Just wondering.

#7 Bill Henderson

Bill Henderson

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Gilbert AZ

Posted 02 March 2012 - 03:32 PM

Read in your stl from verify into MCAM and save as an iges then.

#8 Tyler Robertson

Tyler Robertson

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 2,132 posts

Posted 02 March 2012 - 03:35 PM

When solidworks saves it as a step, it does SAVE the file, but it technically may not won't adhere to the properties of a step model

Verisurf has an auto-surface feature that can put surfaces on a STL file, at which point you can save this as a STP/STEP

#9 Tyler Robertson

Tyler Robertson

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 2,132 posts

Posted 02 March 2012 - 03:36 PM

funny that the CMM guys want a surface/solid model - usually they're the ones giving me the decimated STLs from their goofy scanners

#10 Bill Henderson

Bill Henderson

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 238 posts
  • Location:Gilbert AZ

Posted 02 March 2012 - 03:44 PM

View PostTyler Robertson, on 02 March 2012 - 03:35 PM, said:

When solidworks saves it as a step, it does SAVE the file, but it technically may not won't adhere to the properties of a step model

Verisurf has an auto-surface feature that can put surfaces on a STL file, at which point you can save this as a STP/STEP


Was wondering that seeing the file size 5k.

The CMM scans though ugly.... MCAM can cut them nicely.

#11 Tyler Robertson

Tyler Robertson

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 2,132 posts

Posted 02 March 2012 - 04:12 PM

Yeah - I would say like %60 of the programming I end up doing is from scans. Turbine industry doesn't like to give out CAD models so companies are always reversing. Amount of time I take rests solely in the hands of whoever is scanning it, so I try to make friends :)

#12 Ron Branch @ 5th Axis

Ron Branch @ 5th Axis

    Regular Guy

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 589 posts

Posted 02 March 2012 - 05:02 PM

Hum well take a look at some of this:





Frog to Solid Video Download

Now Verisurf does give the ability to check back to the STL without even needing a surface or solid model. Mastercam .stl fiels are not good to make models from, but things might could be done. We keep adding tools and I have some old files I might try some of new tools on and see if they help.