Jump to content


- - - - -

New Monitor


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 GoetzInd

GoetzInd

    Chip Making Strategyst

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,348 posts
  • Location:Chicago Land

Posted 14 March 2012 - 07:51 AM

My 21" LCD met it's maker and I'm on life support w/ a 19" CRT. I'm looking at an LED 24" and I would appreciate any suggestions.  TIA

Mike

#2 gcode

gcode

    Serenity

  • Moderators
  • 20,634 posts
  • Location:Jurupa Valley, California

Posted 14 March 2012 - 08:03 AM

I use dual Dell 24" Ultrashaps..
You don't want to buy a cheap 24" as wireframe graphics can look jagged on
big screens with a lower pixel count


Dell Ultrasharp


You'll be very happy with the U2412M

I've got a U2410 at home and its really nice, but I'm not sure its worth the extra money

#3 Hockey Guy™

Hockey Guy™

    Advanced Member

  • Customers
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,112 posts
  • Location:Thee Circle

Posted 14 March 2012 - 08:09 AM

I have dual 23" dell ultra sharps here.

#4 gcode

gcode

    Serenity

  • Moderators
  • 20,634 posts
  • Location:Jurupa Valley, California

Posted 14 March 2012 - 08:18 AM

I got an email from Samsumg last week touting a new series
of ultra high quality monitors..they're not out yet, but I'll be watching for them

#5 GoetzInd

GoetzInd

    Chip Making Strategyst

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,348 posts
  • Location:Chicago Land

Posted 14 March 2012 - 08:42 AM

Contemplating going dual monitor. If I do, is there a way I can default the ops and level manager to one monitor or to I have to put them there every session?

Mike

#6 BenK

BenK

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,381 posts
  • Location:Burnsville, MN

Posted 14 March 2012 - 08:48 AM

All you have to do is drag them to the second monitor.

#7 GoetzInd

GoetzInd

    Chip Making Strategyst

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,348 posts
  • Location:Chicago Land

Posted 14 March 2012 - 08:51 AM

Ben,
  Will they stay there after restart?

Thanks,
Mike

#8 bogusmill

bogusmill

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 733 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:07 AM

Yes.

#9 BenK

BenK

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,381 posts
  • Location:Burnsville, MN

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:24 AM

Quote

Will they stay there after restart

Yes it remembers the last position they were at. Once you start using dual monitors you will never want to go back, I even have dual monitors at home.

At home: 2 HP 22" monitors

At work: 2 dell 2208wfp monitors

#10 Todd Tracey from Fastech

Todd Tracey from Fastech

    Advanced Member

  • Resellers
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,651 posts
  • Location:Waterville, OH

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:33 AM

I have Dell 22" and 24" and like both of them. Also just got an ASUS 22" 1920 X 1080 for home use and it looks good, especially at $149.99.

#11 Awbade

Awbade

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 09:58 AM

I'm a big fan of Asus Products. (I don't trust Dell or HP -_-) they make amazing monitors for cheap. Make sure if you go dual that you get 2 of the same Size O.o preferably the same monitor. I've made that mistake.... =[

#12 gcode

gcode

    Serenity

  • Moderators
  • 20,634 posts
  • Location:Jurupa Valley, California

Posted 14 March 2012 - 10:00 AM

I've been buying Dells for 12 years now.. I've probably bought a dozen of them
and to date, one 17" monitor bought in 2000 has failed

#13 Awbade

Awbade

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 10:09 AM

I've been custom building my own computer for 10 years. to date I've bought 2. None have failed, and they're always top-of-the-line. It's more of a personal preference.

#14 Josh Kinney - ProCNC

Josh Kinney - ProCNC

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 959 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 09:56 AM

I don't use duals any more. I recommend a 32" LCD. I have a SCEPTRE 32" and would never go back to duals!!

#15 Awbade

Awbade

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:25 PM

View PostJosh Kinney - ProCNC, on 15 March 2012 - 09:56 AM, said:

I don't use duals any more. I recommend a 32" LCD. I have a SCEPTRE 32" and would never go back to duals!!


What's the resolution on that? My pet-peeve when it comes to the extra-large monitors is that I normally can only find them at sub-par resolutions. I like small writing haha

#16 gcode

gcode

    Serenity

  • Moderators
  • 20,634 posts
  • Location:Jurupa Valley, California

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:27 PM

One of our fourm members replaced his dual setup with one Dell 32" ultrasharp

He said he really liked it, but I havn't seen him around for a while.. so I don't know how

that's working out long term

#17 Marshal

Marshal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,248 posts
  • Location:Winona, MN

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:32 PM

I've got a Dell 30" ultrasharp here at work, used to have an apple cinema display that they don't make anymore.  Is it bad that sometimes I wish I had a second one?


View PostAwbade, on 15 March 2012 - 12:25 PM, said:

What's the resolution on that? My pet-peeve when it comes to the extra-large monitors is that I normally can only find them at sub-par resolutions. I like small writing haha

The 30" I've got is at 2560x1600 and looks amazing.

#18 Josh Kinney - ProCNC

Josh Kinney - ProCNC

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 959 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:42 PM

View PostAwbade, on 15 March 2012 - 12:25 PM, said:

What's the resolution on that? My pet-peeve when it comes to the extra-large monitors is that I normally can only find them at sub-par resolutions. I like small writing haha

Sorry, mine is a 27" not a 32". 27" is plenty big and is crystal clear.

The primary workstation uses this 27":

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16824112019

Secondary Workstation uses this 23":

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16824112020

#19 Marshal

Marshal

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,248 posts
  • Location:Winona, MN

Posted 15 March 2012 - 12:55 PM

View PostJosh Kinney - ProCNC, on 15 March 2012 - 12:42 PM, said:

Sorry, mine is a 27" not a 32". 27" is plenty big and is crystal clear.

The primary workstation uses this 27":

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16824112019

Secondary Workstation uses this 23":

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16824112020

Are those screens matte, or glossy?  The matte screens are really nice, eliminates glare from any lights.

#20 Awbade

Awbade

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 01:20 PM

Hmm, Looks like I might have to consider trying one of those at home, I'm not sure if I can drag myself away from the dual monitor set-up though. It's just too nice to have a browser/music player in one, and a video game in the other >.<