Jump to content


- - - - -

Engraving


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Mic6

Mic6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,235 posts
  • Location:Sunnyvale, Ca

Posted 05 April 2012 - 01:04 PM

I haven't used engraving in a few months, but I have used it with this release.  I'm trying to engrave a part number.  Using the actual engraving toolpath since it's heavy text.  It's simple 2D lettering.  I get the error after I click the green check after chaining.  I tried it on the most simple squarebox and it still errors.  WTH?  Isnt the engraving TP included with X5?  It couldn't have expired could it.  Maint. is up to date.

#2 Manuel0822

Manuel0822

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 01:22 PM

I don't know about this issue on MC but as long as it's not rotary around a cylinder you may want to check this out:

My link

Way simpler than MCX

#3 Mic6

Mic6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,235 posts
  • Location:Sunnyvale, Ca

Posted 05 April 2012 - 01:26 PM

Nope, just a flat plain jane number.  Standard pocket works, but now I'm obsessed with why this isnt working.  Oh, and link is blocked here.

#4 gcode

gcode

    Serenity

  • Moderators
  • 20,635 posts
  • Location:Jurupa Valley, California

Posted 05 April 2012 - 02:19 PM

I think there is a bug with X5 Engrave ....it won't launch on x64 systems

#5 Manuel0822

Manuel0822

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 02:25 PM

Just tried it here on X6 x64 and won't run either.

#6 Oscar R.

Oscar R.

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Location:SoCal , USA

Posted 05 April 2012 - 02:41 PM

I just tried it on my X5 x64 system and it works. I don't use it very often but that's only by chioce. I find that running a contour path with comp turned off is just simpler, and I'm not restricted to using only engraving tools.
We usually use a .020 ball emill to do our engraving here. Works out pretty good for the most part.

#7 Mic6

Mic6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,235 posts
  • Location:Sunnyvale, Ca

Posted 05 April 2012 - 02:44 PM

Dang bug.  Yea I always 2D comp off with an engraving tool, but this situation has fat lettering/logo and they want the entire letter to be "pocketed".  Regular pocket works, but I liked using Engrave for this situation

#8 Oscar R.

Oscar R.

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Location:SoCal , USA

Posted 05 April 2012 - 03:09 PM

Works good here.

Am I missing something here? Is your toolpath actually loading but note doing anything after chaining? You sure you're using actaul lettering and not not just note text?

Attached Files



#9 Mic6

Mic6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,235 posts
  • Location:Sunnyvale, Ca

Posted 05 April 2012 - 04:11 PM

Yup it's 2 box letters, .75 tall.  Closed chain.  I chain them, then click the green check, ding "Cannot create operation"

#10 NOTW Programmer

NOTW Programmer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 435 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 04:29 PM

Works here also, I do always use the controur with comp off; I get to ramp entry.

#11 Pilot Plant Supervisor

Pilot Plant Supervisor

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Location:Albany, Oregon

Posted 05 April 2012 - 04:45 PM

I've never used it, but just tried it in X5 MU1 and it worked great. My computer is 64 bit, but isn't X5 32 bit only? I used create-letters, MCX block font, window chain, and checked the rough box in the parameters. No problems on my end.

#12 ajmer

ajmer

    Advanced Member

  • In-House Solutions
  • PipPipPip
  • 307 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 05:27 PM

try running a chook
does it go to the correct directory based on the version that you are running
eg.   C:\PROGRAM FILES (X86)\MCAMX5\CHOOKS\    if you are usign X5

if it does not
settings-->configuration-->files-->custom addin/dll and change to the path above.

save and try engraving again

#13 Mic6

Mic6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,235 posts
  • Location:Sunnyvale, Ca

Posted 06 April 2012 - 01:01 PM

View Postajmer, on 05 April 2012 - 05:27 PM, said:

<br>try running a chook<br>does it go to the correct directory based on the version that you are running<br>eg.&nbsp;&nbsp; C:\PROGRAM FILES (X86)\MCAMX5\CHOOKS\&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;if you are usign X5<br><br>if it does not <br>settings--&gt;configuration--&gt;files--&gt;custom addin/dll and change to the path above.[<br><br>save and try engraving again<br>
<br><br><br>BINGO!<br><br>

#14 Mic6

Mic6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,235 posts
  • Location:Sunnyvale, Ca

Posted 06 April 2012 - 01:03 PM

View Postajmer, on 05 April 2012 - 05:27 PM, said:

try running a chook
does it go to the correct directory based on the version that you are running
eg.   C:\PROGRAM FILES (X86)\MCAMX5\CHOOKS\    if you are usign X5

if it does not
settings-->configuration-->files-->custom addin/dll and change to the path above.

save and try engraving again

Bing!  Thanks Amjer.  It wasnt seeing the (X86) folder.  Toolpath secured
:unworthy: