Jump to content


- - - - -

File-Save and File-Open shorcut links in left column


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Thad

Thad

    Highly Advanced Member since May 2002

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10,958 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 11 April 2012 - 12:42 PM

Our wire guy got a new PC so I'm getting him setup back to where he used to be. His old box was running XP, but now he's running Win7. I don't remember how to display the shortcuts in the left side menu when doing a File-save or File-open. I thought it had to do with the MC dialog box in the control panel MC applet, but that didn't help. I've attached a pic of what I'm talking about. The pic shows what I want to show up, but all he gets is the directory tree. How do I get the option to add shortcuts there?

Posted Image

Thad

#2 3rd String

3rd String

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,082 posts

Posted 11 April 2012 - 12:53 PM

IIRC right click in the left pane.

:Edit: It might be a windows 7 thing I seem to remember another thread discussing this subject.

#3 JParis

JParis

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24,291 posts

Posted 11 April 2012 - 12:57 PM

IN windows 7 it works differently, you have to add it to the favorites

Right click on Favorites


Posted Image

#4 Thad

Thad

    Highly Advanced Member since May 2002

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10,958 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 11 April 2012 - 03:26 PM

What you see in the screen shot is what I want it to look like. That's a screen shot from my mill seat. It works fine for me. I'll have to put up another screen shot of what I see on the wire seat sometime tomorrow.

Thad

#5 K2csq7

K2csq7

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,279 posts
  • Location:CT

Posted 11 April 2012 - 03:40 PM

Is this what your talking about?

#6 Thad

Thad

    Highly Advanced Member since May 2002

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10,958 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 12 April 2012 - 05:40 AM

Here is what I see on the wire seat (MC X6 running Win7).

Posted Image

The left side pane doesn't look like what I expect it to. I expect it to look like the image in my first post, showing only the MC shortcuts. Is this the new and improved dialog box that people were complaining about in the link K2csq7 provided? If so, add me to the complainers list.

Thad

#7 K2csq7

K2csq7

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,279 posts
  • Location:CT

Posted 12 April 2012 - 06:45 AM

Check out the last few posts (#68) in the X6MU1 thread.

#8 JParis

JParis

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24,291 posts

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:26 AM

I liked the Windows 3.1 look I wish they'd bring that back  ;)


In all seriousness, it's a Windows 7 interface, AFAIK, it cannot go back.

So Like I posted, you can add favorites to the list.

Wait for the outcry when XP is no longer supported  :D

Time moves on......

:cheers:

#9 Thad

Thad

    Highly Advanced Member since May 2002

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10,958 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:44 AM

Actually, it's a combination of Win7 and X6. I'm running Win7 with X2 and all is well in my world. The wire guy? That's his problem.  :harhar:

#10 JParis

JParis

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24,291 posts

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:05 AM

View PostThad, on 12 April 2012 - 07:44 AM, said:

Actually, it's a combination of Win7 and X6. I'm running Win7 with X2 and all is well in my world. The wire guy? That's his problem.  :harhar:

To an extent yeah, they've had to update the interface, X6 is when it happened, so all the backwards stuff will have it but X6 forward will not.

#11 Jay Kramer @ Precision Programming

Jay Kramer @ Precision Programming

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,548 posts
  • Location:Santa Clarita, Ca

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:37 AM

I was going to say this is a Win 7 and X6 thing as X4 & X5 in Win 7 does it the way Thad wants.

#12 Thad

Thad

    Highly Advanced Member since May 2002

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10,958 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 12 April 2012 - 09:01 AM

View PostJay Kramer @ Precision Programming, on 12 April 2012 - 08:37 AM, said:

I was going to say this is a Win 7 and X6 thing as X4 & X5 in Win 7 does it the way Thad everyone wants.


Fissed.  :smoke:

#13 Jay Kramer @ Precision Programming

Jay Kramer @ Precision Programming

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,548 posts
  • Location:Santa Clarita, Ca

Posted 13 April 2012 - 08:56 AM

Thad you shareing that? LOL sorry man