Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Teaching MCX7

Cooper Wilbanks

Hello all! First post here; currently I'm teaching at a community college. I teach an intermediate/intro to Surface Modeling in Creo 2.0 and now I'm doing 3D Mastercam. A little bit about me; I'm 21 and I graduated last year with an associates in Engineering Graphics. I've worked as a CAD contractor while in school then moved on to a CNC programmer using Manual Guide I on a Eurotech 6 Axis lathe doing cutting dies. I worked these two jobs while in school for about 6 months. Then when I graduated I went to work at an aerospace machine shop for a year and now I'm teaching!

The group of guys I'm working with just got out of their 2D Mastercam class and are now transitioning into the 3D world. Well I'm looking left and right for just about everything to make sure I can show these guys everything they need to know before moving to 4 and 5 Axis world starting in Spring. I can't afford teacher starter kits nor do I get "freebies" from the school like training and such due to I'm new. I did get a Mill Level 3 book but it's really a just do this with no explanation type book. I was hoping if I could get some tips from here and maybe even some resources (I downloaded all I could from the Downloads section) from everyone because I really want to teach them and myself more than I left school with. I have a strong start to my career and I want to keep it going strong.

Thanks everyone!!

If I just paid ~$400 for a class and found out that the teacher was 3 years older than me, had an associate degree and a year and a half working in the field...I'd be pretty ticked off.