Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Back plot time vs machine runtime

Looking for some input on this one

I have a part, Mastercam back plot time is 2 hr 15 min......actual machine run time 4 hrs

There is very little drilling on this, 5 holes, so I know I am not losing it in the pecking

I am running the almost exclusively on all paths G131 R0 we are not even coming close to max programmed feed rates on this baby

Because of what this file is I can't share it but any ideas on what I might look to on the machine itself

Matsuura MAM72 30i controller

To really blow your mind. I have seen the opposite as well. Where the run time on the machine was faster than what Mastercam said it would be. Only a few times, but enough that I tell anyone get a stop watch and go time it on the machine. Once the tool is done and it has cut the part at 100% rapid and 100% feed rate then and only then can I tell you with 100% accuracy what the run time is going to be.

Looking for some input on this one

I have a part, Mastercam back plot time is 2 hr 15 min......actual machine run time 4 hrs

There is very little drilling on this, 5 holes, so I know I am not losing it in the pecking

I am running the almost exclusively on all paths G131 R0 we are not even coming close to max programmed feed rates on this baby

Because of what this file is I can't share it but any ideas on what I might look to on the machine itself

Matsuura MAM72 30i controller

Always a crap shoot for all my mold components. unless it is dead simple

I add, to the times,  35% for complex

John, do you ever see the buffer on the controller bog down when drip feeding?

John,