Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Vacuum Fixturing

I have zero experience with vacuum chucks.

I was hoping to start a discussion about the ups and downs of various methods. An issue I'm concerned about is how much ability does a vacuum plate have to pull a plate down flat once it reaches a certain thickness compared to size. I have a 3/16" thick plate that is 8.5" x 7.5" wide. I can have anywhere from .006 to .012 bow or twist in the stock. Will I have any problems pulling it down flat?

I see the various models that are available. Any favorite brands? I was even thinking about the benefit of making a custom vacuum plate that is job specific.

• Like 1

Big thing you got to remember about vac chucks, is they don't necessarily get the parts flat.

Parallel yes, but flat not always.

If you have a bowed billet and suck it down, then machine, as soon as you let the vac off it can bow straight back.

Flip over and vac down and machine, and vac off, and the part can stay bowed.

But parallel

• Like 1

3/16 plate will pull down no problem with that small bow over that large area. You start to have issues when the part is cupped over a small area. +1 to what newbeee said. But you can go back and forth between mechanical fixtures and a vac fixture to achieve flatness. We always make job specific vac fixtures. It allows you to maachine a pocket to not only locate the part but also to make sure it does not slide.

• Like 1

That was actually the route I was thinking about, making our own. It looks like it would be pretty easy. The gasket material, is it standard or do separate suppliers make proprietary gasket material?

Civicegg, do you guys buy the gasket material in large rolls?