Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Requesting SDK and info on chooks, VB

Hi,

I am an X5 user and I'm looking to update my older VB scripts from V9 to work with my X5 installation. I have a few questions:

I'm not that experienced with the .NET languages like C# but I've written a few dozen C++ stand-alone utilities and quite a few VB scripts to operate on Mastercam  NCI files. I'm looking to migrate my former free-standing C++ programs to operate inside Mastercam. There would be fairly substantial database operations involved so which of the 2 languages (C++ or VB) would you recommend for me moving forward? 

Also I would be favoring whichever language is more likely to be supported in the future.

You used to offer the chooks years ago...is that still actively updated and anticipated to carry into the future?

Incidentally, my X5 installation doesn't seem to have the VB .dll nor any of the sample scripts in VB...is that unusual? What would I need to do to get that setup properly?

I believe I have .net 3.5 installed on this box but not sure.

Also I have Visual studio 2010 Express C++ that I've used for compiling my stand-alone utilities.

I will be looking to download samples in VB and C++ eventually to re-familiarize myself...so what else would I need to get going?

Thanks,

Jim

Hi,

I am an X5 user and I'm looking to update my older VB scripts from V9 to work with my X5 installation. I have a few questions: