Sign in to follow this  
BlaskoM

Z depth as macro variable

Hello, I am new to mastercam and the post processes but I am taking over some basic mastercam programming responsibilities  from a co worker. 

What I can't figure out is how to make the post create code with the Z depths as macro variables.

In my tool path parameters under linking parameters it has the feed plane at 6 so it puts Z6. in the post code.

What I want is Z[#502+7.00]

Is there a way I can do that? If I try to put [#502+7.00] directly in the box i linking parameters, it crashes mastercam because it does not know the # symbol

Thanks

• Like 1

You would have to create a logic process using mi and mr triggers to accomplish this task. Mastercam is not a macro output by nature software. It can be done, but heavy post work IMHO would need to be done to accomplish that task.

Welcome to the Mastercam forum.

On 3/14/2020 at 8:45 AM, BlaskoM said:

Hello, I am new to mastercam and the post processes but I am taking over some basic mastercam programming responsibilities  from a co worker. 

What I can't figure out is how to make the post create code with the Z depths as macro variables.

In my tool path parameters under linking parameters it has the feed plane at 6 so it puts Z6. in the post code.

What I want is Z[#502+7.00]

Is there a way I can do that? If I try to put [#502+7.00] directly in the box i linking parameters, it crashes mastercam because it does not know the # symbol

Thanks

Part of the issue is: do you want "all Z Values" coming out of the Post to have that Variable output, or "just the Clearance Value at the Tool Change Event?

You can use the 'new address' function to assign different prefix and suffix values to the numerical output.