Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Assistance with surfacing this feature

Sigurd

I've been on Mastercam 2021 for about 8 months. We got a Haas Minimill about that time and I've been sending a lot of 2D work through it since then. This is a part that I regularly see and ordinarily, I would take a ball endmill and plunge to depth, and then make a 15 degree cutter on the Deckel and finish the walls. I am trying to 3D program this part because there are 12 in my current job. I am self-taught and I'm going through all the free lessons on Mastercam University.

The semi-spherical shape on the left, I was able to get Surface Finish Contour running well enough. The problem is that center slot. It is R.059 at the floor and 30 degrees included. I filled the hole, and that's been about it. Flowline, Surface Rough Parallel and Waterline all almost work, but of course, "almost" isn't good enough. Surface Rough Parallel doesn't seem to want to follow the angled wall. Waterline digs in on the first pass; I want .005 stepdown max. Flowline would do it if I could get all those surfaces to be one surface. 

I have attached a jpeg of what I'm cutting. Reason being is that my seat of Mastercam 2021 is only 2-axis. There is a 3-axis seat here in the shop, but I've been practicing on the Mastercam HLE version here at my bench so that I can go over to the other seat and not waste time practicing.

Would someone be willing to provide me some guidance on chaining and parameters for a toolpath that would cut these features?

9835 runner shutoff.jpg