Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Unwanted rapid retracts with 3d flowline

Are there any tricks to getting rid of the retracts when using the 3d flowline toolpath? Currently driving off of surfaces made from the solid model chamfers. 

I am assuming the retracts are because the surfaces are individual surfaces instead of one flowing surface? I am not experienced with modifying surfaces, but it seems that if I was able to join all of these surfaces I could create a smoother path? 

Looking for any tips or tricks to expand my 3dmilling experience. 

image.thumb.png.2a2cd494750553c29f731de8342a4f4e.png

15 hours ago, Colin Gilchrist said:

Number 1 trick to getting the tool to "stay down", is to adjust your Gap Settings.

But yes, you've likely got a Flow Direction issue.

First, try this:

Increase your Gap Size to 0.500".

In your "method" to keep the tool down, select "Follow Surfaces".

Thank you very much for this suggestion. I had played with the gap settings using the "% of stepover" and not getting the results I wanted, switch from % of step over to "gap size" and follow surfaces method and I now have exactly what I wanted. Thank you again!!

image.png.913a1f526849b33c350901c18eb84651.png

5 minutes ago, Pgreenlaw said:

Thank you very much for this suggestion. I had played with the gap settings using the "% of stepover" and not getting the results I wanted, switch from % of step over to "gap size" and follow surfaces method and I now have exactly what I wanted. Thank you again!!

image.png.913a1f526849b33c350901c18eb84651.png