Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Order of operations

Scott Wayne

Hello everyone. I’m a CNC machinist that’s just starting to learn mastercam and I’m getting hung up on what is the “right” way to create objects. I almost always get the regeneration error when making parts. Here is the example I’m working on right now. 

it’s a stepped washer with a slot in the bottom. I made the part and got an error when I tried to save and after regenerating it changed everything and I had to start over. It’s hard for me to specify what’s going on because I don’t understand why it’s not working. So if anyone could break down as if I’m 5 what order you would create this simple part I would love that. I started with the widest part, made parallel lines to create the slot, used extrude to cut a body for the hole and repeated the process for each layer. Should I draw circle and extrude them or use cylinder? Extrude cut or hole? There’s just an overwhelming amount of choices that it makes it very confusing. Thanks for any help in advance!

DF0026AB-E82C-4BE0-9DD4-2B89451FFB10.jpeg

D4D151F0-D8EA-4190-AA0D-5B07E1D502AD.jpeg

I was asking more about how to correctly draw it in mastercam, but I ended up figuring it out. 

We have acrylic beds on top of the machine bed and we use double sided tape to hold down aluminum plate, no coolant, just air, so we take small cuts. We have a lathe too but our smallest drill is 1” so we decided it would be easier to do this on a mill. We’ll mill out the slots and profile the plate, then flip it over and mill the rest. Using an acrylic bed and double sided tape allows us to mill all the way down to the tape.