Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

SolidWorks Vs MasterCam Question.

slyym

I've been using MasterCam for about 10+ years and have never run into any geometry that I couldn't create with it. We are currently hiring a new programmer and he uses SolidWorks to create his geometry and MasterCam just for the toolpaths. My boss is considering buying Solidworks just for this new programmer and I'm trying to tell him its really not necessary. I've heard a few guys say SolidWorks can do things that MasterCam can't. What would be the advantage of using Solidworks? What can it do that MasterCam cannot? Thanks.

In my opinion its not that Mastercam can't do it, its more that it is just easier and faster in Solidworks. If you make any prints though Solidworks is the way to go, Mastercam doesn't really give you a nice print.

In my opinion its not that Mastercam can't do it, its more that it is just easier and faster in Solidworks. If you make any prints though Solidworks is the way to go, Mastercam doesn't really give you a nice print.

Yea, thats kinda what I've been thinking and what I've been telling the boss.

With the time you can waste doing detailed prints in Mastercam, you can do some pretty trick prints, they just take a lot of time, you could easily justify the cost of a seat of SW's.

Solidworks is a complete CAD system. MasterCAM, is a CAM system with some CAD functionality.

I personally do ALL of my design in Solidworks

I have had fillets that Mastercam couldn't get right, Solidworks whipped them out in seconds.

Edit: