Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Programming head-table 5-axis. Common practices.

?Mark

Okuma M800VH with Fanuc 31i-A5

Is there such a thing as "common practices"?

I'm new to this. I can make MC do what I want but the fanuc side/nc code gives us fits

Almost all our parts will have at least some 3+2. Increasingly, we have more and more simultaneous 5-axis tool-paths.

My questions:

1. Do you always use TCP "G43.4" on every part and tool-path?

2. If G54.4 WSEC is not included with the control (Fanuc 31i A5), how do you compensate for fixture errors? Re-posting?

3. If using G68.2 do you still need G54.2 ?

4. Do you ever really use regular G54, G55... offsets?

5. Look-ahead/smoothing. Which options do you use for contouring and which one for surfacing and simultaneous 5-axis milling? Do you really need them all?

G8 P1

G5.1 Q1 (AICC)

G5 P10000 (HPCC)

G5.1 Q3 M251-M255 (AI-NANO)

6. Use only inverse feed for all rotary and 5 axis moves?

7. Workpiece coordinate system. Parameter 19696 bit 5 (WKP) "0" or "1" ?

Setting it to "0" makes our G68.2 3+2 toolpaths work, but messes up 5-axis toolpaths

Setting it to "1" makes our 5-axis toolpaths work, but messes up regular G68.2 3+2 toolpaths

WTH

Does anyone have a sample MCX file (with 3 axis, 3+2 and 5 axis toolpath in one file) they can share with a correct nc code for this type of control? I feel that the support I'm getting with this new machine is below expectations...(

THANKS!!!

Use G54.4 WSEC for fixture error. ( Only needed in case the part rotation is off. XYZ position isn't needed to be corrected with the 2 following codes )

G68.2 for all 2D, 3D, 3+2