Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Custom Lathe Grooving Tool

Kampfzentrum

Morning gents, got a perplexing issue here. I'm new to a company that has handed me the responsibility of creating a full graphical tool list for their VTL. I've drawn the tool up and saved it to my own tool database, but when I insert it into an operation, I get it coming in inverted like this. I've attached how it comes in along with the dialog box where the tool geometry is defined.

Now, I'm sure someone is going to come out and tell me something simple that I missed, so I must state: I am new to the lathe/VTL world. Any tips moving forward would be great. But for now just solving this mystery would be great.

Thanks guys.

Groovemania1.png

Groovemania.png

Whenever I am setting up a "new tool" in Mastercam Lathe, I always use the "Draw Tool" button. That will show you the orientation of the tool, and how it "sits" on the machine. The issue you are having, is "VTL" is a weird animal in Mastercam. It depends on if you are using "World Z = Lathe Z", and how the Machine Definition was built.

3 hours ago, Kampfzentrum said:

What setup screen would you like to see? I am not sure what screen you are requesting. I personally drawn the tool just as you described. I am not sure why it is inverting it like it is.

Zip2Go posted.

2039916A.ZIP