Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Right Angle Head Toolpaths

PKMills

Hi,

I'm new to programming for right angle heads. I've searched and can't find an answer to what seems to be a simple question. 

I have a ring that has features on the ID and OD and we are using an indexer that's rotating about the Z axis on a vmc. I'm using an aggregate post that was supplied by our re-seller for this machine and I'm getting what looks like correct code by modifying the front tool plane and using the top wcs to get the proper rotation.  The part I'm not figuring out is when it comes to drilling on the OD. It seems that in backplot it's always starting from the inside of that part unless I switch from the original front plane to the back tool plane. 

In this case there are only 4 holes on the od that are equally spaced and I'm sure It would be easy to write out by hand but I would like to know how this is done in MasterCam 2019. I'm guessing there is a way to use the back tool plane and rotate, but how would you do that if the holes are not equally spaced?

Thank you. 

After more trial and error it seems like I may have answered my own question. I created the geometry and toolpath in the back tool plane and then toolpath transform/ rotate/ create separate operations and turn posting off for the original back operation. If the features are not equally spaced I would create separate transform operations.

If anyone knows a different/ easier way of doing this your input would be greatly appreciated. 

• Like 1
54 minutes ago, PKMills said: