Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Hey all you Fanuc 5-axis guys...

It has been a while since I have run a Fanuc 5-axis machine, and I am not up on all the new controller features. I have 2 configurations, one head-head, and one table-table. I have been runing Mazaks mainly for the last 5 years, and they use G54.4 and or G43.4, for workpiece error comp (distance from program zero to center of rotation) and TCP respectively. How do the new Fanuc controllers handle the situations?

TIA.

Guest CNC Apps Guy 1

G54.4 is WSEC = Work Setting Error Compensation. This is for 5-Axis Error Comp. G54.2 is RTDFO = Rotary Table Dynamic FIxture Offset this is for 3+2 ONLY.

G43.4 like he said is TCP = Tool Center Point Control.

Both functions work well.

Hey folks...Does this group know of any information about guidelines when using Rotary Table Dynamic Fixture Offsets? We run 6th axis on large horizontal machines with the 2nd rotary sitting on top of the B Axis facing the spindle.

We sometimes get the Dynamic Offsets to work and sometimes not... If we had information about the capabilities and limitations of the G54.2 RTDFO we could plan our programs and setups accordingly. I saw a chapter in the book by Karlo Apro "Secrets of Five Axis Machining" about RTDFO but no guidelines were discussed.

Guest CNC Apps Guy 1