Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Should I use (and Learn) C-Hooks or Net-Hooks to build this addin?

Could someone explain the limitations of Net-hooks vs using C-hooks? From what I have been reading Net-Hooks are significantly easier to learn and implement, but C-hooks are more powerful, so what are the actual limitations here? I am not a software developer, but I am willing to invest the time to learn to be able to implement some projects like this in Mastercam and other shop projects I have planned. Looking for some advice on which platform I should be investing my time into learning. The first project I am looking to tackle:

We use Heidenhain controls, these controls can upload a .T, Tool database, file to the machine that contains things such as tool name, tool length, tool radius…. That I would like to export directly from Mastercam. These are basically a CSV file. I would like to develop a C-hook the reads all the tools used in a given program and auto generates a text file for me that I can load into the machine control. This will cut down a TON of data entry on the control when setting up new jobs.

Would a C-hook or a Net-Hook be more appropriate for developing this?

On 4/23/2023 at 8:50 PM, LHM said:

Could someone explain the limitations of Net-hooks vs using C-hooks? From what I have been reading Net-Hooks are significantly easier to learn and implement, but C-hooks are more powerful, so what are the actual limitations here? I am not a software developer, but I am willing to invest the time to learn to be able to implement some projects like this in Mastercam and other shop projects I have planned. Looking for some advice on which platform I should be investing my time into learning. The first project I am looking to tackle: