Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

creating custom toolpaths

Hi,

I'm new to C-Hook development, although I've been programming in C++ in the CAD/CAM arena for over 15 years. Basically I'd like to make a custom operation that allows the user to chain-select some geometry, pick a tool, set some parameters, and generate a custom toolpath that shows up in the operations list. The user can then edit the parameters, regenerate, post, just like any other toolpath operation. I was able to do a poor-man's version of this before I had access to the C-Hooks SDK and mock it up quickly by exporting a DXF from mastercam, importing it into a standalone app that I wrote, and having my app create an NCI file. (There was some information on the NCI file in the Post documentation, but I couldn't find descriptions of the actual tool motion records corresponding to G0, G1, G2, G3, so I made some regular Mastercam toolpaths and reverse-engineered the format from those.) I can then Import NCI inside Mastercam, which allows for posting, toolpath editing, etc. but no regeneration or parameter editing, and so I am integrating it into Mastercam more directly now that I have access to the SDK. The examples that came with the C-Hooks SDK are useful in getting a "Hello World" app running, but are too simple to address more complicated needs like I described. The SDK Help file (the CHM) does seem to have some bare-bones documentation of functions, but more samples would be ideal.

Essentially, at this point, I have two questions for the community at large: