Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Swarf 5-Axis or Curve 5-Axis challenge

wildcat99

OK, this should be cake for most experienced MasterCam users!? I've been working with MasterCam now for a whole 2 months, Mill 8.1.1. We will soon be trimming parts with a 5-Axis Quintax router.

I'm still in the learning process and having trouble making a Curve 5-Axis or Swarf 5-Axis path work smoothly with our parts. On the FTP site in the MC8 folder is a simple model that I've created in SolidWorks to give an example of what I am talking about...DraftBlock.MC8.

ToolPath Group 1 is a Curve 5-Axis that would work, but the tool retracts or rotates at some arc endpoints. Also an entry/exit move would occur at these same arc endpoints in the middle of the chain. There is only 1 chain in the geometry.

ToolPath Group 2 is a Swarf 5-Axis that would work perfectly if the tool/holder were on the other side of the block.

ToolPath Group 3 is what I want, but this has to be done in 3 steps with 3 chains.

Now for the challange...Can this be done in 1 step with 1 chain without adding geometry in MasterCam or manually changing the Post file? If so, it will make my life a lot easier when creating toolpaths on our more complicated parts.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions. I'm probably making this more difficult than it has to be. Thank you.

Ok here is a thought.

You say the tool wants to come out.

Does it come out to unwine if so what is the Max rotation in the "C" Axis can it do a full 360 deg or is it 180 by 180 or less.

This can be fixed by were you pick from and start and were it ends in this limit.

Other wise it wants to pull out and unwine so it can go on.

I will look at the geo in a few.