Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

3D machining strategies

Diedesigner

Hi all,

I have little experience in 3D machining, so I would like ask permission to tap into the knowledge base here. This is my first real attempt at 3D machining, so please forgive my many questions.

I am machining soft A2 tool steel for a draw die boss which will produce a shape similar to the flip-up part of a cell phone, so it has relatively shallow surfaces across most of its shape blending into steep surfaces at the edges. The piece will be hardened after milling.

I roughed it out with an inserted end mill using planar cuts, semi-finished it with a coated 1/2 carbide ball end mill using a parallel zig-zag tool path, and I finished it with an SGS Zcarb Tialn coated 5mm ball em, also running a parallel zig-zag tool path, at a 45 deg toolpath angle.

The roughing and semi-finishing ops left about .020" stock.

I ran the SGS ball end mill at 6000 rpm (which is the maximum for my machine) and 20.0" feed for the finishing passes, with the maximum step over set at .005" (slightly less than .0002" maximum scallop height). The "tolerance" was set at .001

The finish is not bad, but it shows a "checkerboard" pattern when you look at it against the light, and it seems to have some shallow (less than .001) grooves across the flatter portion of the surfaces. These "grooves" are in the same direction the finish passes ran.

-- Do you have any input as to which strategies are best for "fine-finish" finishing? How much "tolerance" should I specify? I would like to achieve as close to "mirror" finish as I can, to minimize polishing.

-- Would I be better off hard-milling the finish passes after heat-treat? Can you recommend how much stock to leave & speeds/feeds?