Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Drawing Question

jspangler

Hi

Since I have NO experience with autocad, etc. and am self taught on MC8, I was wondering if anyone culd recommend any books on drafting? My problem is getting the drawing from the part into the computer accurately, and takes a ton of my time.

Anyone have any tips on reverse engineering parts??

Thanks

Jspangler

Edward G. Hoffman has a book called "JIG AND FIXTURE DESIGN". In the book he covers some drafting and tolerancing.

"MACHINERYS HANDBOOK" also has a drafting standards section.

Try "MODERN MACHINE SHOP" online at WWW.MMSONLINE.com. They have some good reference materials, and links to many other web resources.

As for reverse engineering, I have an old Tree Journeyman 325 that sits idle quite a bit of the time, and I will put my parts in it, use an edge finder, dial indicators, micrometers etc., and get a basic layout of the part I am trying to duplicate. I will then draw the part in MCAM V9 and dimension it. I compare the part to known standards and move geometry around till I get a part that satisfys the requirements. It is helpful to dimension with the globals set for dimension regeneration. It is a great way of auditing your work.

It is a pretty crude method, but it gets the job done.

If you really want to cheat and save time,then

you may want to check out this site.

http://www.trixsystems.com/tractrixcam.html

You "scan" your cad(raster)drawing(supplied by your customer).

It then converts it to a (vector)drawing,which

will allow you to import it into Mcam and start

giving your toolpath.

Although I have never used it, and cannot comment

on if it is good or not,you may want to check it out.

As far as books,there are many to choose from.