Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

C-Axis cross contour depths

Brian Pallas

Hello,

I just started a new job and they have Mori NL-2500SY Lathes.  I have never programmed the live tools before.  Doing a milling path down the length of a tube, and in MCAM the depth is right, and it verifies correctly.  When I post the code though the X dimension is doubled, like the depth of the cut is being read as a radius and is then being converted into a diameter in the code.  They have a post for the the NL-2500's that they have been using, but from my understanding the programs have always been cut and pasted together from the MCAM output, and manually change some things to what they are supposed to be.  I also downloaded the mplmaster post and machine.  I am getting the same output with the X value depth for the milling for both posts (their original NL-2500 post and the mplmaster post).

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? Or what I need to change to get the correct output?  

I tried to attach a Zip 2 Go and the MCAM file but both were to big to attach, even though the sample program is two lines and one milling op.

I have X7.

Thanks,

My immediate guess is they don't really have a post, they have something they hacked together that they use.....

The fact that you say they hack and paste programs together, I believe supports the notion....

Bottom line, you may not be doing anything wrong but likely have a post that isn't configured properly

Those machines can have many options and a purchased post is almost always the best way to go....