Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Engraving Student art work in MILL

A Beneteau

Hello all,

My name is Andre Im a teacher in London Ontario using MC9. I have been trying to get student art work into the engraving mode to cut out there art into plastic. Im fine upto where the chaining is done. It seems to chain all of the arcs but it tells me it isn't closed and only machines a small portion of the work. Does anyone have any ideas or workarounds. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Andre

• 2 weeks later...

here is the engraving skinny

bring in the artwork/logo/sign what have u

delete duplicate entites

if it look choppy covert to arcs can help

contour window

select a search point (end of an entity in a top corner is good)

cutter comp off is good (center line programming)

as fast as the spindle will turn a 1/16 ball nose cut approx .005 deep at .002thou/tooth xy half that on z low clearance is a must because u will go in and out of the cut lots and a good coolant flood to wash away chips

check the verify and adj depth and cutter size until desired affect is obtained

• 1 month later...

To use the ingraving from the add-on it want to see the Geo as a pocket thought so it can do the 3d contour moves up in the sharp corners.

Some of the other options that the others guys are talkinf about are the standerd flat contour use a window and cut down the center of the geo this is diffrent.

This why I asked if you could share the file.

Hello