Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

importing models

depasquale

I have a student version of MCX5 and limited access to a commercial version thru my employer. I am new to mastercam as I am switching from ESPRIT. When I import a model from Pro/E solidworks or Alibre how can I create geometry that Mcam will recognize to create tool paths. I imported a model of a casting as a step file, oriented it for zero position and then wanted to Drill some holes. I select toolpaths-drill -ect... when prompted to pick points arcs entities ect.. All I can do is select the entire solid model I imported. In Esprit there was a command called "smash" that more or less extracted the edges from the solid model so you could pick specific geometry, is there a way to do this in Mcam. Feature Base Mach is all I could use to select the holes. Any help, or suggestions would be appreciated.

If you turn on the 'Create Edges' option while importing the model, you'll get lots of wireframe you can work with.

You can also enable this permanently in Settings/Config/Converters.

There are a lot of selection techniques available when picking directly off of a solid - familiarize yourself with the Solids Selection bar.

If you turn on the 'Create Edges' option while importing the model, you'll get lots of wireframe you can work with.

You can also enable this permanently in Settings/Config/Converters.

There are a lot of selection techniques available when picking directly off of a solid - familiarize yourself with the Solids Selection bar.

Thanks -- I kinda figured it was something fairly simple to do, I just need to learn where all the menues and commands are. once again thanks.

• 1 month later...