Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Toleranced features on a solid model

Our engineers here draw every thing on size for holes or toleranced features. Is there a way for them or myself the MasterCam programmer to machine these holes with out using multiple diamter offsets for the tool? I am looking for a way for Master cam to recognize tolerances. Unfortunately we use Solidedge, not Solidworks. Does any one have any ideas? I am new to mastercam this year, and have never gotten too deep into any other cam packages that I have used in the past.

Thanks.

I always adjust my stock to leave in Mastercam tool paths to cut to my desired result, usually the middle of the tolerance range. For example; in the solid has a hole that is 1.0 and the print tolerances it at 1.000 +.005/-0 I will set the stock to leave at -.0012 (.0024 diameter). That way assuming the tool is to size and cuts correctly it will cut to the middle of the tolerance.

I always adjust my stock to leave in Mastercam tool paths to cut to my desired result, usually the middle of the tolerance range. For example; in the solid has a hole that is 1.0 and the print tolerances it at 1.000 +.005/-0 I will set the stock to leave at -.0012 (.0024 diameter). That way assuming the tool is to size and cuts correctly it will cut to the middle of the tolerance.

+1

I also do this for any plating or paint.