Jump to content


- - - - -

Thread Higbee


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Kevin Goddard

Kevin Goddard

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts

Posted 16 October 2002 - 05:36 AM

Is the a method to higbee (blunt start) a stub acme thread in Mastercam? Been hand writing them and would like a better way if possible. Thanks in advance.

#2 McRae

McRae

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,218 posts

Posted 16 October 2002 - 05:47 AM

Show me the code that you want so that I can see what a higbee is.  Anything is possible given enough time or money...

#3 kinglouie V

kinglouie V

    walking wounded

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,875 posts
  • Location:between a rock and wierd place

Posted 04 April 2008 - 03:49 AM

This has just come up for me and was wondering if anyone came up with anything? I have a formula that I can't remember what all of it means and I'd like to share for feed back. I am currently waiting for an install of MCX and writing by hand anyway. This formula calculates finish (vanish) point in "Z".

Z.1+Z(1)+MCC

DELTA RPM / PITCH / SERVO LAG CONSTANT = MCC

(NOTE: Z(1) "little one" is relative to tool tip.
I'm a little foggy on this one)

TIA

#4 Kevin Goddard

Kevin Goddard

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 06:23 AM

I have not heard of a solution in Mastercam but I am not a poweruser post guru type. I higbee a lot of threads but I hand write em. I am sorry for the lack of help.

#5 kinglouie V

kinglouie V

    walking wounded

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,875 posts
  • Location:between a rock and wierd place

Posted 04 April 2008 - 07:27 AM

Kevin,

so how do calculate and do you comp the servo lag?

#6 Rick Henrickson The Boeing Co.

Rick Henrickson The Boeing Co.

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,531 posts
  • Location:Washington

Posted 04 April 2008 - 07:56 AM

I use to use a thinbit less then the thickness of root, use the standard thread cyle move my ref in z out 1/2 the pitch and program 1 theard pitch deep.

#7 kinglouie V

kinglouie V

    walking wounded

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,875 posts
  • Location:between a rock and wierd place

Posted 04 April 2008 - 08:28 AM

we are told to cut them at a slower rpm usually at 100 rpm so that's why I'm calculating the servo lag.
(loss of pitch at encoder when speed changes)
the idea is to be a little gentle on the ball screws. no other reason I can think of.

#8 Rick Henrickson The Boeing Co.

Rick Henrickson The Boeing Co.

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,531 posts
  • Location:Washington

Posted 04 April 2008 - 08:53 AM

Louie you are correct there I forgot to add you need to slow rpm way down.

The first time I tried was on a 3 start thread and I forgot to chande the rpm the insert did not like that much.

#9 nofalloff

nofalloff

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:NYC (Center Of the Universe)

Posted 04 April 2008 - 02:48 PM

Kevin,
I've done it, but it was like forever ago. The way I think I did it was to create a second threading op using a square face grooving or cutoff tool. The tool only ran the Z depth to blunt the first third of a revolution of thread which was in my case about .062. the key was to program the lead out with a .01 z component and a .1 X component this retracted the tool over where the actual thread is to begin. program it as threading so that you can easily cut the blunt in a number of passes so its clean.

#10 35K chipper

35K chipper

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 599 posts
  • Location:Santa Clara (Bay Area)

Posted 04 April 2008 - 03:33 PM

Kevin
seco tools had a program you could download for there thread mills that had the highbee option in it. worked well. have not used in years. i think its still on an old p3 computer.
35k

#11 kinglouie V

kinglouie V

    walking wounded

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,875 posts
  • Location:between a rock and wierd place

Posted 04 April 2008 - 05:11 PM

when I was a kid I used to cut them on a mill to prep the blanks for LoneStar gage. NOBODY I've ever worked for turned higbees for fear of tearing up the machine. By the end of the day I had the formula wired. TGIF!
when I have my notes in front of me I'll share for those interested and to save for search later in case I lose the thing.

cheers!

#12 nofalloff

nofalloff

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:NYC (Center Of the Universe)

Posted 04 April 2008 - 05:55 PM

I'm in the process of trying to mod a post to output threading correctly and in playing with it tonight i realized the Mastercam doesn't have a Z pull off component nor can you specify the pull off angle. I seem to remember programming that higbee in Gibbs actually. that would really have been along time ago.

suppose you could add it in manually. maybe it will be in X3?

#13 kinglouie V

kinglouie V

    walking wounded

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,875 posts
  • Location:between a rock and wierd place

Posted 04 April 2008 - 06:16 PM

quote:


maybe it will be in X3?  

that would be sweet.