Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Home/Ref Points +Switching Planes

jwvt88

Hey guys, as I'm still learning daily, I do have a question.

We have a machine we occasionally program for. It is a Handtmann, specifically for machining aluminum extrusions. It has 10 automatic vises and a saw blade as well. It's kind of unique for me, coming from molds and dies. How I was taught for it, was that we have to do a LOT of point to point movements. We need to tell it exactly how to bring the saw blade in, and exactly how to avoid the vises, and we don't have productivity plus yet either, so often we need to have many probing points to hold chamfer depths to tolerance. However without formal training today I started playing with the Home/Ref points. I can see a huge benefit in using these for avoiding the vises on each side. However, when I go from front to back, I would still need to add in a point move for the Top plane to go to the other side. Is there any way to avoid this? 

Thanks!ex.thumb.jpg.3f163a5a119db858c20cefebd17bf1fd.jpg