Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Pocketing, any tips??

jspangler

Hi

I am new to MC and CNC machining and have been doing OK, but am wondering if i can't speed things up a little here. First question=

What tools, speeds and feeds, and depths of cut do you recommend when pocketing .375 thick 1018. I am making header flanges so most of the pockets are no bigger than 1.75 x 1.75. I've been using Iscar insertable 1" end mills and the 328 inserts, so far. Everything is held down tight. Second question, is it possible to dril the heck out of the pocket to eliminate as much material first then run a clean up with the mill on the outer boundary, or will the loose material beat up the tool too much?

Thanks

John

Hotshot Performance, Inc.

Hi,

Is this header flange really a pocket (blind area) or is it a window (thru area)? When I think of header pipes I think that the flange is a window. If that's the case then DONT pocket it. Just Contour it. much less time to cut. Watch out for loose slugs 'tho.

The old adage about speeds and feeds for steel is:

quote:

RUN IT TILL IT TURNS BLUE

Hehe. just check with the insert maker for recommendations or program it in Mcam using "feeds and speeds" from material. Do this from "JOB SET-UP" dialog.

HTH

-KLG

Hi

That's what i've been doing so far for speeds and feeds, but depending on the depth of cut (obviously never more than .375) on an apkt insert, the machine sounds like it's about to fall apart. This is with a really secure fixture, short holder, etc. I'm using the constant overlap pocket method from the center out, with 40% overlap. I'd like to be able to do it in one pass....