Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

solids (from a surface guy)

Barry

I've been surfacing for 5 or 6 years. I have v8.1.1 and bought solids with it. Im on my 5th job using solids. Its alittle more complex ( somewhat small detail). I am having trouble with fillets and corner radii. I can't seem to get them to work in quite a few areas. .125 fillets and .06 corners. I know I can do it in surf but i dont want to give in. Please advise

Thanks,

Barry

Guest CNC Apps Guy 1

James Meyette's Rules for Solid Modeling:

[*]Rule # 1 - Draw your geometry sharp.

[*]Rule # 2 - Fillet edges faces, etc...

[*]Rule # 3 - Drag the Stop Operation around in the Solids History Tree instead of using "Supress".

[*]Rule # 4 - Thou Shalt be patient when learning solids.

It is a different beast, bound by more limitations(mostly mathematical from my understanding of the process) than surface modeling. There is a reason why Automakers/Airplane Mfr's etc... use software like CATIA®, Alias®, and not Solid Works® for designing body panels, fuselages, etc.... The reason being that freeform/organic shapes are much more difficult to create using solid modeling than surface modeling, so you may find using a combination of both may acually suit the types of parts you are creating.

JMHO

[ 11-15-2001: Message edited by: James Meyette ]