Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Help with solids and surfaces

razor

Question #1:

I have a little problem. First off, I'm new to this. So be gentle . Our shop has recently purchased MasterCam and I've been playing with solids. I have no problem when I create the solid, running tools over it. But I've recently found a site to get 3D wireframes from.

3D cafe

But I can't seem to do any surfacing on them. They seem to have been created in AutoCad and DXF'ed out.

Is there a way to use these wireframes to run tools over them and create 3d objects.

Question 2: How do you create surfaces from a dumb solid?

I was just asked to help out the programming department because I used to be a programmer. But the last software I used was Gibbs( before virtual ). Help if you can. Thanks. redface.gif

Hi Razor,

1. if you can't do anything with surfaces in Mastercam try using rhino3d v2. A NURBS modeler for creating and editing surfaces.Even it has the capabilities to create organic surfaces.you can get a free 25 save evaluation version at www.rhino3d.com .

2. you can use make surface from solid face option in mastercam.

hope it helps

[ 11-30-2001: Message edited by: kwolf ]

solids/surfaces/wireframes the basics

1 there is no such thing as a dumb solid in mastercam.

You dont need to create surfaces from a solid as by definition a solid is a collection of surfaces conected allong their coedges to form a 'watertight' body. Some packages treat imported solids as 'dumb' but mastercam isnt one of them, all geometry imported into mastercam is immediately native and can be treated in exactly the same manner as solids or surfaces created in mastercam,

2 So what have you got?