Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Help !!!

LastCat

HI

Im new to MC9. Been in the CNC busy for 15 years, and used Gibbs for the last year. So our company wants me to learn MC9. So I go to a 3 day class, learning the basics about MC9.

Company buys the upgrade from V7 to V9, computer, desk, sets me up in an office. We make Commercial Airliner Repair Parts, here in Seattle (no Suprise? hehehehe).

15' Komo, 20' Komo, Fadals, 40 and 80. Not lathes...hmmm. Nevertheless, I have been able to do easy straight forward parts with MC9, and a few 3 axis moves. Been at it now for 4 months, say about 60 programs so far.

We do lots of extrusions, and channels. Making Spars, Chords, Repair beams and the like. I am having problems with getting tools to cut a part, that has tapers in the walls and floors. I can draw the part, but for the tools, I just can't get to cut properly, without it cutting also the walls, and bottom of part. Its a mystery now, but I'll find out soon. We do all kinds of Taper wall/floor combination parts, in 3 axis moves. Im just not sure if its the way I make the part, or how I am selecting the tool operations.

If I could see how its done once, It'll open new doors, and I can go from there. I know some of you like to reply with "one liners". "Ya, look in the help sections, explains it all."

DOH! Hardly. Needs hands on help, Anyways save your breathe. What I have is a file of the drawing of the part in MC9.

Can one of you Highly Gifted and Eager Techs out there, here, take a look at my file, and see what you can do. All I need is for the inside floors and inside walls cut. I wanted to use a 1.00 endmill with .125 corner rad. to finish the walls, and a 1.5 or 2.0 facemill with .125 rad to finish the floor.

Thanks

LastCat

Seattle Wa