Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

hodge podge of mcam newb questions.

jlw™

So, I'm new to mcam.  I have a few things that I know has to have a better way... because I did in Esprit.

1st:  Lets say I have marked up dimensions on a very large part.  If I print the part all I get is little rectangles.  Is there a way to scale the dims automatically when printed?

2nd: when i try to xform -> contour offset, it puts the offset on the same level as the original geo even tho i'm on a new level.  I do this all the time for containment.  is there something i'm missing to make the new offset geo go to the main level?   (answered, thank you!)

3rd:  selecting geo that is "on top" of a solid or even more difficult, points on top of geo on top of solid.  Is there a mask or "hold p and click" to get points or geo?  I know about alt+s and it makes geo selection easy, but what about points specifically?  (answered, thank you!)

4th:  tool error i get all the time.  none of my tool databases have changed location on the hdd.  all file paths are the same as when i began a couple months ago. but i continually get the error in the attached pic.  any suggestions or insight into what is causing this?

thanks in advance guys!

and the last one for now, I have one file that i can't upload.  i have a 3d path that is not trimming the corners properly and giving wacky motion in the corner.  I tried to duplicate the problem and upload it but everything worked perfectly in my new file.  here are some pics and the parameters.  what it did was create arcs to get to the second branch when it should have cut to a sharp corner.  the problem is only in multi pass.  it will not trim the passes correctly.