Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Haas ST10Y Lathe code

Stephen

Hi,

I just got a Haas ST10Y up and running and need some help on a few things. I've tried using the generic Haas ST 4X MT_Lathe and generic Haas SL 4X_Lathe posts. I was told to use these posts. The big difference is the ST outputs G53 X0 Z0 and the SL outputs G28 U0. V0. Z0. Which is better?

As an instructor I want to make operating the machine as bullet proof as I can with students as to limit disasters on the shop floor. Is the following a post or MC programming issue?:

1. If a student accidentally jogs the Y axis off zero I noticed the machine will start a new program without first making sure ALL axis' are returned to zero. Just Z and X start at zero. How do I fix this? Obviosuly having the Y off zero will cause the tool to not cut on the center-line of the part for regular lathe cutting tools.
  2. The end of the program posts G28 U0. V0. W0. This causes an error so I had to delete V0. to make the program work.
  3. When I use Misc. Ops, stock flip and add a manual entry M0 the code does not post any spindle on or feedrate commands.

Any help would be appreciated,

Steve

Sorry, I havn't had a chance to play with the Haas lathe with a y axis. I would imagine it would have to look for a few key things.

When you set your tool offsets is there a field that sets the height of the y axis?

If so then the safest way of calling up a new tool would be T0101 then the next line after that would be Y0.- this will then look to the tool table and set the height of the tool correctly.