Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Fadal VMC 2016L

jadaro

I've had some difficult troubles with this machine...The manual is competely WRONG when it comes to tapping.. what i'm looking for (or to create) is a post processor that make the correct code for a rigid tap.

We've come up with this: 1/2-13 TAP BTW

THIS CODE SEEMS TO WORK BEST.

M6T6

G0 G90 G54 X0 Y0

G94 M29 S533

G43 H7 Z0.1

G99 G84 Z-.8 R+.1 F41.

G80

M5 (etc

Other codes, seemingly made / posted with mastercam are for tapping fixtures- And that's fine, except we don't have any.

We're looking to customize our Post Processor, so i had a look at it and came up with this (See the posts below). Please give me any feedback, i'm only a beginner.

Edits: the R plane and removed the .pst code, because it wouldn't have worked anyway.

[ 02-07-2003, 10:49 PM: Message edited by: jadaro ]

Are you sure that is the code that you desire? I have a fadal VMC and my code looks a lot different. My rigid tap code is a G84.1 The G84 is used for a floating tap holder. Another thing that is suggested is to output the spindle speed as S500.2. The .2 in this situation keeps the belts in high-range and gives a more fluid reversal.

Surface has a couple of good facts. Does your machine have rigid tapping? i.e. "G84.1" That as wellas the decimal value after your spindle speed has proven to work very well in the past for me. It also allows you to use a standard holder for the tap instead of a floating tap holder. This is my experience as well, on a VMC 4020 machine, but I don't recall needing an M29, or G94 value when using the above values. I believe it ends up looking pretty similar to a regular canned cycle:

"G98 G84.1 X_ Y_ Z_ R+_ F_ S_.2

G80"