Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

VARIAXIS i600 G54.4

Jcncprogrammer

Hello all, I am new to 5 axis machining, and the company i am working for just bought a new variaxis i600 and got it up and going a few months back.  while i have had a few successful parts programmed on this machine. This one i can not figure out. We are having to machine on an extrusion that has most of the OD surfaces finished, and we have to machine pockets into the sides and various features on every side. 

We are holding the part in a 5th axis vise, on the center of the table.and probing x0y0 at the center of every part.

I am sure my part is on center in master cam 2017 and everything looks good as far as geometry and numbers go, but when i run the program everything is .01-.02" off center??

and inconsistent from part to part... We checked our setup, and the probe. my last conclusion was that it had to have something to do with the changing position relative to center of rotation?? Because Y and X are changing several thou when i look at the work offset page. Does this sound like something G54.4 would help resolve? As ive never had much issue with parts machined from a solid billet, its just when having to be on center of an existing part with finished surfaces. Does anyone knows anything that would shed some light on this??? It seems even Mazak and Mastercam are not able to help much with this issue...

Thanks

You should not be probing these parts for G54.  You can probe them for G54.4 deviation from CoR, Mazak has a lovely little macro for the asking.  The G54 (or whatever) offset should be center of rotation for XY and Z.  If you do not know these numbers you can find them in the Machine Parameters page, Another (S Parameters) in #5 for each axis.