Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Going for training

Thoob

Hi guys, I will be going for a week of training this upcoming month. It will be for Mill Level 3 and Lathe toolpaths. I have been using Mastercam for almost 9 years now however I was only self taught so I'm without a doubt sure my ways are not the "proper" way, lol. I have been using basic surfacing, 2D, and lathe with no problems. My concern is being trained the right way and actually applying it over the way I am used to. Am I in for a big change when I go and what should I expect in terms of a learning curve? Any input on the course (those who have taken it) is appreciated. Thanks.

If you have self trained yourself over the last 9 years, then I doubt very much if you will reap much of a benefit by taking a course now. Obviously you have been doing something right for the past 9 years. Maybe you will learn something of the more advanced surfacing paths, but I am sure you could have figured them out on your own anyways.

...I doubt very much if you will reap much of a benefit by taking a course now.

I wouldn't necessarily agree with that, I've had guys in Mcam training that had been using the program since V7 that will regularly comment that I showed them something the didn't realize they could do. B)

Training is what you make of it.

Even when I'm teaching I find that I pick up different ways of doing things. Go in with an open mind Thoob and absorb everything you can. B)

I've been running this software for nearly 15 years...

I took three semesters of V5 at community college back in the stone age,

but have never had any training beyond that

I still learn stuff every time I go to a rollout event even though they are more sales pitch than training.