Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Need shell mill recommendation

Bob W.

I am facing some stainless parts (420SS, annealed) and I need a recommendation for a shell mill and inserts. I am only removing ~.020" of material at 60% width and the inserts I am currently using are only lasting a few parts before needing to be rotated. My current shell mill is 2.5" diameter and has 5 inserts and I am running at 350SFM and .015 IPT. Due to travel limitations I can't go bigger than the 2.5" diameter of the current shell mill. I am getting killed on this job and I need a cutter that will allow me to feed faster. I am new to machining stainless so any input would be a big help. I will be making several hundred (possibly thousands) of these parts so it will be worth investing in the right tools.

Thanks,

Bob

It's been quite a few years, but at my previous place of employment we have used 400 grade stainless exclusively for about 90% of work (RoyAlloy 400 grade to be exact). We had most luck with Mitsubishi and Sandvik. Call your local reps and get them both for testing. Maybe Mitsubishi still has the free body replacement policy...Sorry, but I don't remember styles or grades.

I tried a bunch and the ones that beat everyone by a HUGE margin was

For roughing:

Ingersoll EVO-TEC SN2J-04R01

Finishing:

Ingersoll SMAX SF6H-04R01

Ran these in Ti with an interrupted cut. All other failed at 25-50 parts. The rougher was lasting upwards of 350parts.....

Finisher can take like 0.030"FPT and leave a 8-12 surface finish all day long....

I would call your Ingersoll rep and see what he can get you for testing.

-Josh

• Like 1