Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Fanuc O-t Lathe Post Processor

jimtoolman

I am new to Mastercam, I have only been using it for about 3 months. One thing I have found is that the weakest point of MC is the post processor. At work I program two different CNC Mills and a CNC lathe. The mills both program nicely, very few problems encountered at all. However, we have concluded that Mastercam is virtually useless to us to program the lathe for anything other than OD turning and simple facing.

The CNC lathe is a Romi with a Fanuc O-t control, and I have looked at the post processor and it was originally written for a Fanuc 6-t control. Is the such an animal as a Post Processor that was written for the Fanuc O-t? I am asking this because the post doesn't work at all like it should. It posts the M03 sometimes and sometimes it doesn't, it will post negative numbers for X and cause crashes, it will post G00 on lines without an X or Z, it will not program rapid retracts, etc, etc.

Is this an issue that I need to take up with the guys we bought Mastercam from or is there someplace I can get a working Post for this machine that won't get my boss steaming mad because it costs another $1500.

BTW we are using MC9, but we also have an identical machine that is using MC72, both machines are having similar post problems.

Thanks for you help,

Jimtoolman

Jim,

I'd be curious to know if you get the same results

with the stock mplfan post. I've been using Mastercam lathe since v6 and havn't seen any of this.

Sometimes V8 would retract to a negative x value

when doing ID groove or undercuts eek.gif , but I haven't seen this in V9.

Using a V7 post in V9 may cause some of your trouble has well.