Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Now that I've opened my mouth....

L Hanft

OR words to that effect. I admit that I am troubled by the talk of war. Memories flood back, unexpectedly... more powerful than I would like. I have lay bare a bit of my inner self and this act makes me unsure. If I had to change jobs today I would have to face my old dilema.... do I risk saying I am a Vet and that I served in Vietnam. I wonder if saying the same on this forum has damage me. I wonder how many other Combat veterans there are on this forum.... that have kept silent for the same reason.

confused.gif

Hi Larry,

Not having been in combat, I cannot begin to understand how you might feel about the talk of war on the horizon. But I can tell you that from where I sit (free in America) you have nothing to be ashamed of. I value my freedom and I love my country and if it weren't for you and millions who have gone before you I wouldn't be able to sit here and write this reply. Having said that, I want to tell you "Hold your head high and never think that what you did was bad or wrong." You have more courage and character than most in this great country of ours. The only thing I can say about anybody who talks down or bad about our veterans is "Walk a mile in their shoes". Then and only then does anybody have a right to comment on the right or wrong of their actions.

My Great-Grandfather served in WW1,my Grandfather served in WW2, my father served in Korea, and 2 uncles served in Vietnam. They didn't like it but they did there duty. I say "Thank You" to all veterans.

I am also a veteran (USMC, Gulf War era) though I've never seen combat.