Welcome to eMastercam

Register now to participate in the forums, access the download area, buy Mastercam training materials, post processors and more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Use your display name or email address to sign in:

Mastercam is laughing at me. (Cutter comp)

barnaby thomas

...I swear it is.

I'm new to mastercam (on a heidenhain control) and I've never found such a devilish system to wrap my head around.

At first I thought I was sailing through it; I splashed out on some PDFs from this lovely site (which were a huge help) and even paid insane pennies for "tips for manufacturing" DVDs (also very helpful). All of my simulations looked joytastic and I was itching to start putting all my hard work to use in the shop.

Then I encounter this old chestnut "cutter compensation-control"

Staggering.

Helix bores can now choose to randomly commit suicide. Lead in and out is a mine field. Translated toolpaths can go bonkers and my trust in the system is very shakey.

I'm fortunate enough to work with a proper mCAM pro, but I already bug the heck out of him with questions ..

I've looked around and found many other have problems but is there an easy answer that im missing? I've only worked in two jobshops in my 10 years of machining so for all I know people are setting things up differently to me; is "control" an option no one bothers with? Do the cam wizards adjust all delta radius tweaks within mastercam and not their tool library?

I've got to go now... Need to figure out why my CC has decided to turn "Left" when leaving a hole at rapid speed.

...I swear it is.

I'm new to mastercam (on a heidenhain control) and I've never found such a devilish system to wrap my head around.